Skip navigation

Swank and Owen win Noque classic marathon

Noquemanon Ski Marathon

Sat, Jan  29, 2011 - By Mike Muha

51k Classic

Noquemanon Ski Marathon

Adam Swank of Dulth and Kristina Owen (Salomon/Swix) win the marque 51k classic at the Noquemanon Ski Marathon. Swank was the first of eight skiers to finish in less than 3 hours, with a time of 2:53:02.7. Marshall Greene (Madshus-Toko) and Andre Watt (Rossignol) with second and third in 2:53:05.7 and 2:53:06.5.

Denny Paull was the first Michigan Cup skier, finishing 8th overall in 2:57:58.1.

Owen finished first in 3:06:05.0, 14th overall for the race. Hillary Patzer (Rossignol) and Sarah Max form Bend Oregon were second and third in 3:08:47.3 and :16:25.7.

Michigan Cup skiers Daniela Gebhart and Tracy Hardin came in 6th and 7th in 3:48:06.1 and 3:49:48.1.

Michael Seaman and Bill Kaltz near the half way point of the 51 kilometer classic with frozen beards during the Noquemanon Ski Marathon

Downstate residents Michael Seaman of Mount Pleasant, left, and William Kaltz of Pinckney close in on the  on Saturday. (Mining Journal photo by Danielle Pemble. Read Sunny skies welcome racers from The Mining Journal)

51k Freestyle

Rossignol's Nikolai Anikin was first in 2:35:40.7, followed 21 seconds later by Michigan Cup racer Jeff Koch of Traverse City in 2:36:01.6. Third was Dan Goltz in 2:36:49.2.

In the women's 51k Freestyle, Ironwood's Paulette Niemi took first in 2:50:07.4. Vicki Asmus and Lindesy Kriete were next in :00:35.8 and 3:02:00.0. Right behind them in fourth was another Michigan Cup racer, Amy Powell from Traverse City, in 3:05:51.2.

Ken Dawson leads a pack of skiers at the midpoint of the 51-kilometer Classic race during the Noquemanon Ski Marathon

Ken Dawson of downstate Farmington Saturday in Marquette County. (Mining Journal photo by Danielle Pemble. Read Competitive Noque: Ski marathon features tight races from the Mining Journal)

Half Marathon Classic

Traverse City's Todd Vigland had a convincing win, beating Jim Lane 1:19:24.7 to 1:20:53.4. Kristofer Rhude was third in 1:21:45.2.

NMU's coach Sten Fjeldheim's daughter Kirsten Fjeldheim won the women's half marathon classic in 1:33:59.5, followed by Hannah Ciesla (1:41:54.0) and Kay Wood (1:41:54.0). Grand Rapid's Amy Todd was fourth in 1:43:21.3.

Freestyle Half Marathon

John Mcfadden of Marquette won the Freestyle Half Marathon in 1:12:03.0. Jeffery Sereno and Evan Patz, in a close fight, were second and third in 1:14:19.8 and 1:14:20.2.

Leslie Dellangelo took first for the women in 1:23:41.1. Pam Weier was second (1:24:32.3), with Michigan Cupper, Gussie Peterson third in 1:25:13.0.

Searchable results:

Prinatable results: