Skip navigation

TART Seeking nominations for Jim Mudgett Award

Mon, Sep  12, 2005 - By Missy Luyk

TRAVERSE CITY (September 12, 2005)- In recognition of the extraordinary efforts of local folks involved in trail advocacy, Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails has created a hall of fame for trail advocates.

The award is named after Jim Mudgett, who passed away in January 2004. Jim was a founding member of the TART Trails Board of Directors, was a trail chief on the Leelanau Trail, and a long time supporter of the Vasa Pathway. He used the TART and Leelanau trails regularly to commute to work, and was an ever present ambassador of the trails to people he met. Jim was an advocate of not only ensuring that our community had plenty of great places to play, but also a life-long promoter of healthy living. As a physician, he encouraged patients as well as friends to exercise, be active and make the most out of each day.

TART Trails is seeking nominations for the 2nd annual Jim Mudgett Trail Pioneer Award. June Thaden, Dave Monstrey, and George Lombard won the award in 2004. Nominations are open for anyone who has advocated for building, maintaining and using trails in the Traverse area.  Anyone may make a nomination.

All nominations must be submitted in writing to TART Trails, P.O. Box 252, Traverse City, MI 49685. State the reasons you believe the person should receive this award, and provide as much information as possible to substantiate your reasons. In addition, biographical information is helpful.

The 2nd annual Jim Mudgett Trail Pioneer Award will be presented at the TART Trail’s Octoberfest Dinner on October 27, 2005. Deadline for nominations is October 1, 2005. Please call the TART Trails office at (231) 941-4300 if you have any questions