Skip navigation

Jesse Smith and Emily Flynn Win Gran Travers

Gran Travers Classic Results

Mon, Feb  12, 2007 - By Mike Muha

Once again, junior Jesse Smith of Traverse City put the senior racers to shame by winning the 2007 Gran Travers 16km Classic in 51:16. Team NordicSkiRacer’s Andy Weddle came in second in 53:02, with Gran Rapids Nordic’s Christian Byar another 10 seconds back in third (53:12).

Emily Flynn continues to dominate the women’s competition, winning the 16k women’s division in 1:07:49. Amy Todd from Grand Rapids Nordic took second in 1:17:49 with Joann Cavaletto third in 1:22:49. Both Flynn and Cavaletto race for Team NordicSkiRacer.

In the 5k distance, it was a trio from Traverse City taking the top three places. Elliot Putman continues his winning ways with a time of 18:11, two seconds faster than Kyle Endicott’s second place time of 18:13. Kevin Tarczon pulled in third in19:14.

Hannah Ciesla picked up another victory with a time of 23:03 beating Julia Otwell (23:45) and Megan Egbert (23:57).

Conditions for the race were excellent: mostly sunny with temperatures in the mid-teens. Tracks were in very good condition, although many skiers who raced in the previous day’s North American Vase suffered mightily in the uphills!

Full Results: