Skip navigation
www.forbushcorner.com

The First Annual SkiErg World Sprints

Tue, Nov  3, 2009 - By Suzanne Hudson

Concept2 SkiErg, Free StandingHere in northern Vermont, we are itching for snow but we know we still have weeks to wait.  To help pass the time, we’re excited to present the 1st Annual SkiErg World Sprints Indoor Skiing Competition.

An indoor skiing race? OK, it’s a bit wacky - but rowers have been doing it for years, and finding that it’s a great workout and a fun way to get through the last bit of the dryland season.

The comparable, repeatable results of the SkiErg Performance Monitor allow anyone with access to a Concept2 SkiErg to race against others on a fair, measurable course.  This 1000 meter race will occur November 14-15, 2009 at locations throughout the world. Can’t travel to a Sprints location? Join in from your home!

The official home race venue will be the Craftsbury Outdoor Center, where racing will take place on November 14 from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. (RSVP here).  The event is open to anyone who’d like to join the fun.   But if you can’t get to Craftsbury, an ever-growing number of satellite races will take place at locations around the world on the weekend of November 14-15. See current list of events below.  Additional locations will be added to this list as we hear about them!

If you are interested in learning more about hosting your own Sprints, email Meredith at Concept2.

Have your own SkiErg and want to join in from home?  Race your best 1000 meter piece and submit it to the Concept2 Rankings on November 14 or 15, 2009 to be included in the official race results.

All participants at satellite events will receive prizes; prizes will also be awarded randomly and for any new records set in each age group and gender.  We hope you’ll join the fun!

SkiErg World Sprints Locations

(Watch http://www.skierg.com/news for additions to this calendar.)

Please contact the individuals below for more details and times for satellite SkiErg World Sprints events.

New England

Bates College Lewiston, ME Becky Woods, rwoods@bates.edu
Bowdoin College Brunswick, ME Nathan Alsobrook, nalsobro@bowdoin.edu
Colby College Waterville, ME Tracey Cote,  tacote@colby.edu
Craftsbury Outdoor Center Craftsbury, VT Oliver Burruss, oburruss@gmail.com
CrossFit USA Berlin, CT Merle McKenzie, trainermerle@att.net
Green Mountain Valley School Waitsfield, VT Justin Beckwith

jbeckwith@gmvs.org

Mt. Mansfield Nordic Jericho, VT Don Harmeyer

marmotdude@aol.com

Northeast Passage Durham, NH Cathy Thompson, Cathy.Thompson@unh.edu

Cory Schwartz, Cory.Schwartz@unh.edu

Stratton Mountain School Stratton, VT Sverre Caldwell, scaldwel@gosms.org
Williams College Williamstown, MA Aubrey Smith,

Aubrey.M.Smith@williams.edu

Mid-Atlantic

Olympic Training Center Lake Placid, NY Patrick Coffey, ptrck.coffey@gmail.com

Mid-West

U Can Row 2 Inc. Houghton, MI Terry Smythe, tsmythe@chartermi.net

West

Idaho Nordic Boise, ID Joe Jensen

JJensen@aceco.com

Sun Valley SEF Sun Valley, ID Rick Kappala, xcolaf@mindspring.com
University of Utah Salt Lake City, UT Eli Brown, ebrown@huntsman.utah.edu

South

Velocity Sports Performance Franklin, TN Amy Cotta, AMYCOTTA@COMCAST.NET

Worldwide:
Austria
Czech Republic
Estonia
Italy
United Kingdom

Please contact your local Concept2 dealer for details.