Skip navigation
www.xcskishop.com

2013 Michigan Cup Schedule

Sat, Jan  12, 2013 - By Mike Muha

The schedule below shows races and distances that receive Michigan Cup Points ONLY. Events may have additional distances not listed - they just don't receive Michigan Cup points. For example, the Frosty Freestyle has a 5k distance. Check the main calendar for full information about the race.

Tentative schedule: expect updates!


Date

Race
Michigan Cup Distances:
Junior Women Men

Sat Oct 20 OPEN         
Sun Oct 21 US Season Open: Ski Fest1
Brick Wheels, Traverse City
100m time trial & head-to-head racing

Sat Dec 15 Wintersonnewende Freestyle & Classic
Michawye Resort, Gaylord
7.5K Classic 17K Freestyle 17K Freestyle
Sun Dec 16 OPEN         

Sat Dec 22 Lakes of the North Winterstart
Lakes of the North, Mancelona
(Vasa Ski Club)
      10K Freestyle
Sun Dec 23 OPEN         

Sat Dec 29 Tour de Ski2
Boyne Valley Lodge, Walloon Lake
2K Freestyle Hill Climb & Sprint Race
Sun Dec 28 Tour de Ski2
Boyne Valley Lodge, Walloon Lake
10K Classic

Sat Jan 5 Michigan Cup 6-Hour Team Relay & Potluck1
(Freestyle)
Hanson Hills, Grayling
Laps for 6 hours
  Junior Olympic Qualifier
Boyne Valley Lodge, Walloon Lake
1k Freestyle Sprint - -
Sun Jan 6 Junior Olympic Qualifier
Boyne Valley Lodge, Walloon Lake
5/10k Classic Mass Start - -
  OPEN (Seniors)         

Sat Jan 12 REI Fosty Freestyle
Huron Meadows Metropark, Brighton
(Team NordicSkiRacer)
5K  15K 15K
Sun Jan 13        

Fri, Jan 18 Northbound Outfitters Junior Festival (FREE)3
Cross Country Ski Shop, Grayling
1-2K - -
Sat Jan 19 Cote Dame Marie Loppet Freestyle
Hanson Hills, Grayling
6K 13K 26K
Sun Jan 20 The Priority Health Huron Meadows Invitational "Krazy Klassic!"
Huron Meadows Metropark, Brighton
(Team NordicSkiRacer)
4k 12k 12k

Sat Jan 26 Noquemanon Ski Marathon (CL or FR)4
Ishpeming to Marquette, MI
- 25/50K 25/50K
Sun Jan 27 OPEN      

Sat Feb 2 White Pine Stampede (CL or FR)5
Mancelona, MI
10K 20/40K 20/40K
Sun Feb 3 Michigan Cup Sprints
Timber Ridge Resort, Traverse City, MI
1K 1K 1K

Sat Feb 9 North American Vasa (CL or FR)6
Timber Ridge Resort, Traverse City, MI
11K 27/50K 27/50K
Sun Feb 10 Gran Travers Classic
Timber Ridge Resort, Traverse City, MI
16K 16K 16K

Fri Feb 15 Michigan High School Championships Sprints
Marquette, MI
1.2k - -
Sat Feb 16 Forbush Corner Freestyle
Frederic, MI
- 17K 17K
  Michigan High School Championships Pursuit
Marquette, MI
M: 7.5/5K
W: 5/4K
- -
Sun Feb 17 Hanson Hills Classic
Hanson Hills, Grayling, MI
- 12K 12K

Sat Feb 23 Boyne Nordican 12 Grinder Freestyle
Boyne Mountain, Boyne Falls, MI
12K 12K 12K
Sun Feb 24 Muffin Race
Cross Country Ski Headquarters, Higgins Lake, MI
8K
Duathlon
- -

Sat Mar 2 Black Mountain Classic
Cheboygan, MI
- 34K 34K
Sun Mar 3 Black Mountain Freestyle
Cheboygan, MI
- 10K 10K

Sat Mar 9 OPEN      
Sun Mar 10 Michigan Cup Relays7
(Classic and Freestyle)
Cross Country Ski Headquarters, Higgins Lake, MI
3 x 8K
1st leg Classic,
2nd & 3rd legs Freestyle

See the main event calendar for race details (as they become available) and for other races and events.

Notes:

1 Ski Fest and Michigan Cup 6-Hour Team Relay: Racers will receive one individual point and one team point for participation.
2 Tour de Ski: Racers will receive points for their overall Tour de Ski weekend results, not for individual races..
3 The Northbound Outfitters Kids Festival is a free kids race held behind Northbound Outfitters / Cross County Ski Shop in Grayling. Kids can earn 1 point for their team for participation (a child must be a registered member of a team to earn points). For kids 13 and under.
4
The Noquemanon is scored as "Classic" meaning both the classic skiers get maximum points while skaters receive reduced points: The 50K Classic starts at 200 points, 50K Freestyle at 180 points. The 25K Classic starts at 150 points, 25K Freestyle at 130 points.
5
The White Pine Stampede is scored as "Freestyle" meaning both the classic and skate race results are combined together. Michigan Cup points will awarded starting at 200 points for winning the longer event in each race (40K) and 175 points (men) or 176 (women) for winning the shorter event (20K).
6
Vasa:  Michigan Cup points will awarded starting at 200 points for winning the longer event in each race (50K) and 175 points (men) or 176 (women) for winning the shorter event (27K). For Michigan Cup points, classic and skate race results will be combined in each distance and scored as "Freestyle".
7
Relay teams consist of three skiers skiing one classical leg (1st) and two freestyle legs (2nd and 3rd).  The length of the legs will be identical for classic and freestyle skiers. There are three gender categories for relay teams - Men, Women and Coed. Coed teams must include at least one women and one man. There are two age groups for relay teams, determined by the total age of all three participants on the relay team: 164 & under, and 165 & over. The top team in each of the six divisions receives 200 points. The other teams receive points based on how many teams are in the division. for example, if there are 10 teams, the second place finishers would receive 200-(200/number of teams) or 180 points. Third would get 160 points, etc. Relays count for team points only. There will be no individual points awarded for skiers participating on relay teams.